Health Service Board

The Board is legally responsible and accountable for the oversight of our hospitals and health services.

The Health Services Bill 2016 was enacted on 1 July 2016 to establish Western Australia's Health Services as separate, board-governed statutory authorities.

This involved establishing the North Metropolitan Health Service (NMHS) as a separate statutory authority, governed by a Board that is legally responsible and accountable for the delivery of safe, high-quality, efficient and economical health services to its local community.

The NMHS Board is legally responsible and accountable for the oversight of NMHS hospitals and health services and is chaired by Professor David Forbes.

The NMHS Board is comprised of highly capable and committed professionals with a diverse range of experience across the fields of medicine and health care, academia, finance, law, governance and risk management, human resources, community and consumer engagement.

Board Members


Clinical Professor David Forbes AMClinical Professor David Forbes AM
NMHS Board Chair

David has had a career in academic paediatrics, working primarily as a paediatric gastroenterologist, but has also worked in paediatric emergency medicine, general and rural paediatrics and child and adolescent mental health. He led undergraduate teaching in paediatrics vocational training at the Princess Margaret Hospital for Children at different points in his career. David was a member and then Chair of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP) Paediatric Physician Training Committee, and the Division of Paediatrics and Child Health Policy and Advocacy Committee. He has also held roles in health service management as the Chair of Paediatric medicine at Princess Margaret Hospital for Children, and as a Clinical Advisor and Acting Chief Medical Officer in the Department of Health.

Hear from David Forbes here (external site) about their role on the NMHS Board.



  Rebecca Strom

Ms Rebecca Strom
NMHS Deputy Board Chair

Rebecca is a Partner at Thompson Geer Lawyers and has extensive experience as a commercial property lawyer. She was previously a partner at Corrs Chambers Westgarth and is currently a non-executive director of Access Housing Australia and Chair of the Governance Committee. Rebecca is also a member of the Executive Finance and Property Committee of the Western Australian Planning Commission.

Hear from Rebecca Strom here (external site) about their role on the NMHS Board.




Angela EdwardsAngela Edwards
NMHS Board Member

Angela has an extensive background in human resources, industrial relations, change management, organisational development and stakeholder management. She is currently Human Resources Director Asia Pacific, CHC Helicopter Australia. She formerly held the position of General Manager – Human Resources, Crown Perth. Angela is also a board member of the not-for-profit cancer support group, Blue Dot Army.

Hear from Angela Edwards here (external site) about their role on the NMHS Board.




Tony EvansMr Anthony (Tony) Evans
NMHS Board Member

Tony is a certified practicing accountant with extensive commercial, financial and corporate governance experience in the health, aged care, education, financial services, property, resources, government and not-for-profit sectors.

He is an experienced non-executive director and has been a member of a number of boards and committees, including the RAC Council; Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency; Optometry Board of Australia; Therapeutic Guidelines; Australasian College for Emergency Medicine; Metropolitan Cemeteries Board; Local Government Insurance Scheme; and Central Regional TAFE.

Tony has a Bachelor of Business and a postgraduate Diploma in Education; is a Fellow of CPA Australia; a Fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia; and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.



Kim FarmerMs Kim Farmer
NMHS Board Member

Kim is an experienced criminal defense lawyer, working many years at the Aboriginal Legal Service WA and as a sole practitioner and is currently Principle Lawyer of her own criminal defense legal firm, Farmer Legal. She also worked in other areas of the law, including supporting people impacted by family violence and child sexual abuse.

She is a board member of the Graham (Polly) Farmer Foundation, supporting Aboriginal children in aspirational education programs; community membership with the Prisoner Review Board WA and board representation on WAFL football team and the Indigenous Players Alliance.

Hear from Kim Farmer here (external site) about their role on the NMHS Board.




Hilary FineDr Hilary Fine
NMHS Board Member

Hilary has been a GP in urban and rural General Practice for over 30 years. She is currently Principal GP and Medical Director at East Fremantle Medical Centre and Adjunct Associate Professor at Notre Dame University. Hilary has held director and chair positions on the boards of local, state and national not- for-profit Primary Care organisations together with the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and External Advisory Board, Notre Dame.

Hear from Hilary Fine here (external site) about their role on the NMHS Board.




Paul NormanProfessor Paul Norman
NMHS Board Member

Paul is a current Consultant Vascular Surgeon at the Fiona Stanley Hospital Group, and Emeritus Professor of Surgery and Senior Honorary Research Fellow at the University of Western Australia. He is an active clinical researcher with interests in abdominal aortic aneurysm, peripheral and diabetic arterial disease.

Doctor of Surgery; Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons; Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons; Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery' Bachelor of Science (Hons).

Hear from Paul Norman here (external site) about their role on the NMHS Board.



Paula RogersMs Paula Rogers
NMHS Board Member

Paula has significant experience in stakeholder management, communications, marketing and business development. She is currently the Director of her own consulting firm, providing thought leadership, stakeholder engagement, communication strategy, marketing and event advice. She is also currently a Board Member on the Barking Gecko Theatre Company Board, and an Independent Director on the Edith Cowan College Board. Paula has worked in a variety of senior roles in Western Australia including most recently as the State Director of the Committee for Economic Development of Australia (CEDA). Prior to this, Paula was employed in roles including Managing Director and Event Management CEO and publisher. Paula holds a Bachelor of Social Science, University College Dublin; and is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.



Steve Toutountzis

Steve Toutountzis
NMHS Board Member

Steve is a certified practising accountant and has an extensive background in finance, procurement, public sector service delivery and policy at an executive and strategic level. In his former role as Director, Performance and Evaluation – Group 1, Department of Treasury, his responsibilities included analysis and strategic advice to the Western Australian Government on budgetary and financial management issues impacting a range of portfolios - including Health. He is currently a member of the Board of Commissioners, Legal Aid Western Australia.

Hear from Steve Toutountzis here (external site) about their role on the NMHS Board.



Last Updated: 21/06/2022